Wedding Cake Progress: (Day 1) Baking, Baking, Baking

on

April 7, 2017

Today in Advanced Baking II was the first day to start on our three tiered wedding cake! Most of us in class decided to take the day and bake our cake layers. I made up a big batch of devils food cake batter. (The same recipe in “Alton Brown Don’t Let Me Down”) Here is the recipe again:

Devil’s Food Cake

  • 1 cup Water, boiling
  • 4 oz Cocoa powder
  • 10.5 oz Brown sugar, dark
  • 5.5 oz All-purpose flour
  • 4 oz Cake flour
  • 1 tsp Baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1 cup Vegetable oil
  • 4.5 oz Sour cream
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Egg yolks
  1. Set a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 325 F. Grease and cocoa your cake pans.
  2. Whisk the boiling water and cocoa powder together in a small bowl and set aside.
  3. Combine the sugar, flours, baking soda, and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Whisk the oil, sour cream, eggs, egg yolks in a large pourable vessel. Add the oil mixture to the cocoa and water mixture and slowly whisk to combine. With the mixer on low speed, add liquid mixture over 30 seconds. Stop and scrape down the sides of the bowl. Continue to beat on low speed until the batter is smooth, 10 to 15 seconds. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake until the cake springs back when pressed and reaches an internal temperature of 205 degrees F, 15 to 20 minutes.
  4. Cool in the pan on a rack for 30 minutes, and then remove from pan and cool completely before frosting.

I multiplied this recipe by 5 times. I made (2) 6″ square cakes, (3) 8″ round cakes, (2) 10″ round cakes, and (1) 8″ square cake.

The first thing I did was measure out all my ingredients, then greased and dusted all my cake pans.IMG_5750

Next I mixed the boiling water with the cocoa powder. IMG_5745

Then I mixed together both flours, brown sugar, baking soda, and salt in the bowl of the industrial sized stand mixer. IMG_5739

Next I cracked all the eggs in a bowl and added in the sour cream. IMG_5740

Then I measured out the oil and poured it into the eggs and sour cream.

Next I whisked together all the wet ingredients.IMG_5744

Then I whisked in the cocoa mixture. IMG_5746

Next I combined the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. IMG_5749

Then I portioned out the batter into the cake pans and baked them. I forgot to take a picture before I put them in the oven. Once they were baked I put them on wire racks so that they could cool. IMG_5752

Once they cooled a bit, I used an offset spatula to loosen the cake from the pan then inverted them, and let them cool completely on the wire racks. IMG_5755

Once they were cooled, I double wrapped them in plastic wrap, labeled them, and put them in the freezer. IMG_5756

Next Friday is Good Friday, so we don’t have class. So, until April 21.

~Holly O

Leave a Reply

