Homecoming Food Styling Display

March 20, 2017

One of our class projects in Food Styling was to make a Homecoming display for on event going on Friday night. Allie and I reused our cupcakes we made in Advanced Baking II for our display. (Per Chef Mary Helen’s permission) We just added to them. I decided to make a Tiffany box to go along with my cupcakes. So here is how it all went down.

First I made a simple yellow cake and baked it in a square six inch cake pan. Here is the recipe I used.

Simple Yellow Cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups All-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp Baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cups Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups Milk
    1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and lightly flour 13×9-inch pan, or in my case a six inch square cake pan. In a medium bowl, stir flour, baking powder and salt until well blended.
    2. In large bowl, beat granulated sugar and 3/4 cup softened butter with electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy, scraping bowl occasionally. Beat in 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla and eggs until well blended. Alternately add flour mixture and 1 1/4 cups milk, beating well and scraping bowl after each addition. Pour batter evenly into pan.
    3. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool completely, about 1 hour.

IMG_5547

While the cake was baking I made up a batch of buttercream for Allie and I to use.

IMG_5548

I also made some fondant decorations and dyed some fondant Tiffany blue.

IMG_5554

I then rolled out the blue fondant big enough to cover the square cake.

IMG_5551

Once the cake was cooled I trimmed it up, and frosted it. Trying to have clean edges so that I could have a nice sharp edge.

IMG_5553

I also rolled out some white fondant and created a bow and some stripes. Here is how it turned out.

IMG_5588
I put some plastic wrap in the bow to help shape it and let it dry.

Right before the event happend I took out the plastic wrap. Here is my whole display! IMG_5592

I took out the plastic wrap on Friday, but on the next Monday the bow had “deflated”. But it still looked cute. IMG_5690IMG_5689

IMG_5688IMG_5691IMG_5692

Here’s Allie’s display!

IMG_5693
@thekitchenzest

Until next time.

~ Holly O

 

Leave a Reply

