Cupcakes & Co.

February 24,2017

Today we had to make and turn in our six themed cupcakes, and also turn in a sketch of our three tier wedding cake. I got to class early at 8:00 am to get a head start on my cupcakes, so that I had plenty of time to make them as pretty as possible. I had saved and froze the cupcakes I made last week to use today. I pulled them out of the freezer so that they could come to room temperature.

Yesterday I made my fondant decorations so they could harden and I could paint them today. I used silver and pearl luster dust mixed with lemon extract to paint them.

In the meantime, I made up a batch of my coffee cream filling. Recipe as follows:

Coffee Cream Filling

  • 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 2 cups Milk
  • 1/4 cup Corn starch
  • 1 Egg, beaten
  • 3 tbsp Ground coffee
  1. Boil the milk and pour it over the ground coffee.
  2. Let stand covered for 5 minutes to steep, then strain.
  3. Mix together sugar and corn starch in a sauce pan, pour over milk and cook for about 4 minutes over medium heat, or until thickened. (*Stir constantly to prevent form scorching)
  4. Temper in the egg and cook for 1 minute more.
  5. Let cool and spread between layers of cake or filling for cupcakes.

While that was cooling, I helped Allie C. make up some buttercream frosting. I stiffed 8 pounds of powdered sugar. We wanted to make sure we had plenty of frosting to share between us.

After the coffee cream cooled, I cored my cupcakes and filled them with the cream. img_5328

Then I dyed some of the buttercream Tiffany blue. Chef Mary Helen brought one of her Tiffany & Co. box’s for me to have a reference to help dye the buttercream the proper color.

img_5326

Now that I have Tiffany blue buttercream, I frosted my cupcakes using a 1M star tip to create a rosette. Then I added my various fondant decorations and some crystal sprinkles.

I put my cupcakes on a mirrored cake board and piped on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.”

img_5336.jpgimg_5338

Allie did an Alice in Wonderland theme! Here are her cupcakes!!! The rabbit might be my favorite, but I LOVE all of them!! She did such a GREAT job! img_5340

Last but not least, I frosted another cupcake and put MY ENGAGEMENT RING in it! It’s not from Tiffany & Co., but to thought it would be PRETTY picture! I LOVE IT!!!!img_5332

We then turned our three tier wedding cake sketches in. Here’s mine: img_5268

Can’t wait to start working on it!!!

~Holly O

 

Leave a Reply

