Advanced Baking II

January 20, 2017

Today was my first day of Advanced Baking II, during advanced baking II we focus on cakes and cake decorating. I’m supper excited about this semester! I have always wanted to learn how to decorate cakes, and have the opportunity to be able to work with the equipment used in cake decorating. Chef Mary Helen told us about the major projects that we will be working on this semester: designing and making 6 themed cupcakes and a three tier wedding cake to match! I’m so excited, however it might be a little confusing because right now I am planning my wedding and trying to decide on my own wedding cake! My first thought is to do a wedding cake in the theme of my own wedding, a wine themed cake, but i don’t know yet. We will see!!

Next week, we won’t be having class because it is Prostart Day in the culinary department. Over 300 high school students enrolled in culinary classes will be coming to tour campus, listen to our instructors talk about our wonderful department and school, and watch demos preformed by Kimberly H. and Allie C. I know that I will be a group leader and help tour the students around the school and the culinary building.

~Holly O

Leave a Reply

